top of page


Chess Board
Home: Welcome


24th November 1996, Yes. It is our Red Letter Day. It was on this date that our Association came into being at No.20, Prakasam Street, B.V. Puram, Avadi, Chennai -54. Thiruvallur District was earlier known as Chengai MGR District, With the change in the political scenario, this name also got changed.

Our Maiden team of office bearers for the first two year term i.e., 1996 - 1998 camprised patrons Lion Dr. Ilangovan Vedagiri, Mr. Ln. B. Jayaraman, Mr. Ln. Victory M. Mohan as President, Mr. S. Narayanaswamy as Vice President, Mr. V. Venugopalan as secretary and Mr. S. Balaraman as the Treasurer. Mr. K. Sirajudeen, Mr. G. Ravi, Mr. R. Srivatsan, as joint secretaries V. Kumaraswamy, I. Ashok Kumar, K. Purushothaman, as organising secretaries and M.S. Charjalu, K. Gunasekaran as office secretaries. During 1996 - 98, the TVLRDCA conducted as many as 13 District selection Tournaments and one coaching programme to the young chess aspirants. Our successful players represented the TVLRDCA in the T.N. State selection championship.

Home: About


Home: Text